Site Overlay

Рубрика: DEFAULT


Negative responses to Frank Zappa's music tend to overtly focus on a lyrical aspect considered puerile. To put it bluntly, dismissing these works as nothing more than fart jokes would be missing the point. The humor is where the lyrics come into play with the music assisting said lyrics. That's what makes the joke funny. And it's not even a new concept -- Mozart wrote a piece called "Lick My Ass". Another aspect of the humor is what inspired said joke. The film Baby Snakes has this song intro'd with a commentary on Peter Frampton 's ridiculous "I'm In You" and the absurdity of said lyrics, the point being, the announcement of being inside a woman during intercourse is not sexy.

It's a total turn-off. Then there's political and social commentaries -- like the anti-union sentiment in "Flakes" and mockery of women's liberation and misogynistic college boys in "Bobby Brown" who starts off raping cheerleaders and ends up being fisted in gay bars. There's also expansive instrumental pieces, which include live improvisations, or studio experiments -- like "Rubber Shirt", where Zappa further develops his xenochrony technique by overdubbing live instrumentation onto a new studio recording developing, in this case, new interplay between a jazz bassline and drum solo, which seem to respond off each other despite being two completely unrelated recordings, with the bass solo coming from a completely different song.

Mostly, the album focuses on Zappa's rock-oriented live recordings, mostly out of financial necessity at the behest of exiting from Warner Bros. Sheik Yerbouti was also the beginning of Zappa's mail order business, and the prospect of bringing the profits directly to himself with little interference from third parties. At least for some of us, after that time, Frank's music started to get a little bit colder, uglier even.

The musicianship was still there. The humor was still there too. That said, if you want to hear what was on Frank's mind in the late 70s, a time when he still seemed to be having fun in the face of adversity he was in a lawsuit with Warner Brothers around this time , Sheik Yerbouti offers up a cornucopia of character studies.

From the closeted mess of "Bobby Brown" to the comic-yet-controversial stereotyping of "Jewish Princess" to the surprise hit disco parody "Dancin' Fool" apparently, some fans of the song didn't realize they were the focus of the joke , there is no shortage of scathing societal commentary.

In fact, to more fully appreciate this record you really should also listen to the music on Lather , music which was spread out on the three or four albums released before and after Sheik Yerbouti, records all cut more or less from that same sonic cloth in many ways, and very much representing Zappa's late 70s sound and vision.

For the purposes of this review, I focused more on those more serious songs to get a sense of how the new remastered version sounds in comparison to my original pressing which I bought when it first came out. Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July I Have Been in You.

Frank Zappa. Broken Hearts Are for Assholes. I'm So Cute. Jones Crusher. Rat Tomago. Wait a Minute. Bobby Brown Goes Down. Rubber Shirt. The Sheik Yerbouti Tango. Harper Collins: Retrieved Aug 19, Retrieved 21 July Archived from the original on May 25, Retrieved March 23, — via robertchristgau. Archived from the original on 9 May Retrieved 7 December Retrieved 6 January Hung Medien.

Retrieved 9 October GfK Entertainment Charts. UK Albums Chart.


Saturday 19 September Problems playing this file? Wednesday 17 June This is an entirely live recording from the The pier concert, New York, Saturday 25 July Zappa, being a hardcore hippie hater, had none of this. Amazon Music Stream millions of songs. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Instead the disco vamp returned for I Have Been In You - Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti (Vinyl solos.
Voy Pa´ Caracas - Noraida Y Los Moré - La Barbara (Vinyl, LP, Album), Panther Rag - Earl Hines - Rosetta (CD), Gaia - Tiamat - Wildhoney (Cassette, Album), Milord - Piaf* - Retrato De Edith Piaf (Vinyl, LP)
Sitemap

9 thoughts on “I Have Been In You - Frank Zappa - Sheik Yerbouti (Vinyl, LP, Album)

  1. Apr 24,  · I Have Been In You Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa: A2: Flakes Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew, Frank Zappa: A3: Broken Hearts Are For Assholes Lead Vocals – Frank Zappa, Patrick O'Hearn, Terry Bozzio: A4: I'm So Cute Lead Vocals – Terry Bozzio: B1: Jones Crusher Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew: B2: What Ever Happened To /5().
  2. As a long time Frank Zappa fan I would say any album that you miss would be a strong indication of the goodness/greatness of kawaliracteder.guispurobalarinenepsatasbuejer.co isn't Zappa's 'We're Only In It For The Money' (which for me should be up there with The Beach Boys 'Pet Sounds' or The Beatles 'Sgt Pepper') or 'Hot Rats' by Zappa which to me is a much more musically serious /5().
  3. Jul 23,  · Provided to YouTube by Universal Music Group I Have Been In You · Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti ℗ Zappa Family Trust, Under exclusive license to Universal.
  4. Feb 16,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Sheik Yerbouti on Discogs. Label: Zappa Records - SRZ,Zappa Records - MIPD • Format: 2x, Vinyl LP, Album • Country: Canada • Genre: Rock • Style: Alternative Rock, Parody/5(65).
  5. In order to finance his artier excursions, which increasingly required more expensive technology, Frank Zappa recorded several collections of guitar- and song-oriented material in the late '70s and early '80s, which generally concentrated on the bawdy lyrical themes many fans had come to expect and enjoy in concert. Sheik Yerbouti (two LPs, one CD) was one of the first and most successful of 8/
  6. Sheik Yerbouti is a double album by Frank Zappa, first released in March as the first release on Zappa Records (distributed by Phonogram Inc.). It is mostly made up of live material .
  7. Frank Zappa Sheik Yerbouti on Limited Edition g 2LP. The Zappa Family Trust has partnered with Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) for a long-term, global licensing agreement for Frank Zappa's entire recorded catalog, as well as rights management participation across the rest of the visionary cultural icon's creative canon. The partnership spans Frank Zappa's vast music and film vault for new.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *